Captain America

Captain America

It occurred to me the other night, that Frankie and I are going to come to the end of the James Bond movies (which will work our perfectly, because the weather we will be warmer and we can be outside). That being said, I was faced with the question of “what is next, movie wise. I found myself at a movies crossroads (with all the things going on in my life, this is a nice problem to have).

And then I remembered we had seen “The Avengers” last fall and he absolutely loved it (his favorite Avenger is Hawkeye). A couple of weeks I went to the library and grabbed “Captain America”. I think the Superhero movies that are out. Iron Man, Captain America, whomever. All good things to explore. Not only are they fun movies and for the most part, kid friendly. There are some decent lessons to be learned in there.

When I was a kid I loved Superheros. Saturday mornings I was up early watching “Superfriends”. My favorite character on that show was Aquaman, he could summon any sea creature he wanted (what a cool super power to have). I loved watching episodes of Batman and Robin. I can even remember a couple of made for TV “Spiderman” and “Captain America” movies. All great stuff.

Then I got older, my shows disappeared. I found myself flipping through the new comic books in the grocery store or bookstore and it just wasn’t the same for me.

I’ve seen all the Marvel Superhero movies, and my favorite is still “Captain America”. I saw this movie the first night it came out. It’s a good story of good vs. evil, standing up to the bully, etc. I like the concept of the good guys taking their lumps, but eventually winning. Something that I try to apply to my life. Something that I try to teach Frankie.

I like the Captain because he remembers where he came from and who he is. He’s definitely one of the good guys.

Frankie is heads and shoulders the tallest kid in his class (I’m 6’3 and his mother is 6’0). He is probably closer in height to a 3rd grader then he is to boy who is in kindergarten. I tell him to stay away from bullies and people like that. If he’s ever confronted, to always remember have your friends back and don’t be afraid to stand up for your friends. Standing up for the little guy, kind of tough concept to explain to your 6-year-old. One that doesn’t hurt to start early.

Leave a Reply

